James Selvakumar’s Blog

July 26, 2008

A blog editing tool that every blogger must have

Filed under: blogging,firefox — James @ 9:53 am
Tags: ,

I’m a regular blogger using the online editor provided by wordpress. It is quite useful. After all, I wrote all my previous blogs using that.But it was not adequate for me. Why?

- I have to be online first of all to use the editor provided by blog service provider (wordpress).
- The online editor was not very responsive as the drafts were saved on the server.
- Suppose if my internet connection gets interrupted inbetween, I cannot save my post.

These were some of the few nuances I was facing without ever complaining about it. Luckily, I came across an article about “desktop blog editors” today. That was interesting because, I always thought that the online editor provided by my blog service provider is the only way to write/post blogs.

I noticed from this poll that increasingly more and more bloggers are now making use of some desktop editors. So I decided to try some of these blog editors and find which one suits me best. Only two products interested me, they are:

- scribefire extension for firefox
- w.bloggar

I tried both of them. Both are excellent products and they have their own merits. w.bloggar even has a “portable version” that you can just unzip it into your usb drive and use it in any computer. But, I decided to go with “scribefire” extension for firefox because I feel much more comfortable with this.


Fig 1: Scribefire in firefox

I’m writing this post using this extension and it’s really very flexible and useful. It supports almost all the types of blogging service available. (wordpress, blogger etc).


Fig 2: Supported blog services

It has got flexible settings as well. By default, it will appear in split screen mode.but you can configure it to open in a new tab or window.


Fig 3: Scribefire in split mode


Fig 4: Scribefire settings

It has lots of other options like viewing/editing your older posts, choosing/adding categories, previewing your post etc, etc.


Fig 5: Viewing previous blog posts


Fig 6: Applying categories

I use quite a number of firefox plugins and I feel this “scribefire” plugin is definitely one of the best plugins ever developed for firefox, may be the best ever…?

2 Comments »

  1. Hey,your blog is wonderful..
    Check mine please..

    http://www.trifter.com/Asia-&-Pacific/Turkey/Travel-to-Patara.119159

    Comment by Hazyman — July 26, 2008 @ 10:35 am | Reply

  2. I’m trully agree with Trifter, that your blog is awesome. Really Nice!!! Thank you anyway, I’m looking for something like Windows Live Writer for Ubuntu, for now I’m trying to use a legal one… Thank You…

    Comment by Malang Photos — April 24, 2009 @ 10:12 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

