James Selvakumar’s Blog

November 22, 2008

Adoption of Open Source Software (OSS) growing rapidly in public sector

Filed under: general,opensource — James @ 8:58 am
Tags: ,

I recently attended a conference titled “Open Source Economy” organized by Sun Microsystems and some government institutions of Malaysia. I was very excited to hear about the increasing adoption of Open Source Software (here after OSS) in the public sector in Malaysia. I also came to know that this adoption started way back in 2003. Here are some facts I collected from it:

- The government of Malaysia has setup an Open Source Competency Center (OSCC) which is responsible for the adoption of OSS in public sector institutions. There are many information and statistics available from their portal.

- 1208% increase in the use of OSS in public sector since 2003.

- Collaboration with universities to incorporate OSS into syllabus and to increase the use of OSS in ICT labs.

- Several states were issued circulars to use OSS.

- Openoffice.org is now the most widely used office suite in public sector.

- Other open source softwares used are Firefox, Thunderbird, Java, PHP, MySQL, Apache, Drupal, Joomla, OpenCRM

- 300,000 PCs in schools to use Openoffice.org. They are now using MS Office. Looks like a bad news for MS :-(

- Collaborating with countries like Australia, South Africa etc to set up centres similar to OSCC.

Many notebooks I saw in the presentation booths were running Ubuntu Linux. Very refreshing.

As an open source enthusiast, this really is a great news for me. I will be very happy if Linux is also accepted in the same way like Openoffice.org.

4 Comments »

  1. Great news. I didn’t know it grew that much. It’s nice to hear that countries all around the world are adopting OSS. I use open source for pretty much everything, not because it’s free but because it works better than the software you’d often pay for. Using Gentoo and Xfce4 along with some of the best development tools, I know as well s a lot of other people how much money OSS saves and how much quality it provides. I’m participating in open source as well. Some projects for money and others just for the experience and to contribute.

    I really hope more people consider using Linux. There’s a distribution for everyone. People think they’re going to be stuff on command-line all day. That’s only 10% true:D. But yeah, Linux rules! I find Windows very constricting. That’s why I don’t like it.

    The KOffice(KDE Office project) just released a new version also. Linux’s list of office suits are starting to look up.

    Great post! Nice to see open source is coming along!:)

    -Clinton

    Comment by Clinton Skakun — November 23, 2008 @ 5:15 pm | Reply

  2. Hi James,

    Hi,

    the friend of mine told me that this blog is very good and I should take a look. I Must admit he had right. I find here some good articles. This one http://jamesselvakumar.wordpress.com/2008/11/17/good-news-for-google-talk-users-on-linux/ is pretty good artyicle. I’m Pole, and we have here in Poland some nice blog: http://czytelnia.ubuntu.pl/ about Ubuntu where couple of peple write or translate articles. So, I have a favour to ask you: can I translate this article and publish it on this site? Of cource I will mention about the source and you, an author, and I will link to original site. Our Czytelnia is non comercial site, we don’t take any profits from it. So , what it be? :)

    I’m looking forward for your answer, I hope it will be positive answer :)

    Regards, Lukas.

    Comment by Lukas K — November 23, 2008 @ 6:55 pm | Reply

  3. Clinton,
    Even I didn’t expect OSS to come this far and now even big companies are seriously considering it. As you said, it’s not just for saving money but for the value and innovation it provides. Many proprietary products are getting more bloated and there is not much innovation there. But on the contrary things like linux, subversion, mercurial, hibernate etc come out with more innovative ideas. Long live open source.

    Comment by James — November 24, 2008 @ 3:07 pm | Reply

  4. Hi Lukas,
    I’m very happy to hear that one of my post is useful to you. I use lots of open source products and I’ve benefited from it. So, helping others with my articles is one way of giving back something to the community. Please feel free to translate it and use it in your site.

    Comment by James — November 24, 2008 @ 4:16 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

