James Selvakumar’s Blog

March 7, 2008

A blogger user switches to wordpress

Filed under: general — James @ 4:37 pm
Tags:

Bye bye blogger.

Yes from today onwards, I will be blogging from here leaving blogger behind.

(All the posts you see below this are the one imported from my blogger blog using the excellent “import” option provided by wordpress. So users who would like to switch to wordpress, don’t worry, you can import all your blogs without losing anything safely.)

I’ve been a blogger user for quite some time. Though it has served good so far, I felt “restricted” in many ways as explained here and here.

There were very few templates, very few widgets.

Though this is my first day and my first blog in wordpress, i read about it a lot and was very convinced in making a move.

As I type this, I can feel the difference. WordPress is simply more professional than blogger. Did anybody say to you that you need html, css skills to blog in wordpress? . No, don’t believe that.

In wordpress, you can create posts in the same way you create in blogger.

I don’t want to make this post as another detailed comparison of blogger and wordpress. No that’s not my intention. You can see lots and lots of information in the web if you can do a simple search. Or better, i would suggest you to just try blogging a single post in wordpress than reading 100’s of such articles to choose the right blogservice for you.

I like Java and Linux very much. So expect me to blog more about that.

Don’t forget to give your comments for my posts as it can help me to improve and correct my mistakes, if any.

I hope to make this an interesting place to share our ideas.

Keep dialing…

1 Comment »

  1. I am also thinking of going over to WordPress from Blogger. Thanks for the posting about it.

    Comment by E. Sheppard — August 26, 2009 @ 3:22 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

